2019 ADVENT PENANCE SERVICES (Download Flyer)

  • December 2: St. Gregory’s 6:30 pm
  • December 3: Holy Family 7:00 pm
  • December 4: St. Luke 7:00 pm
  • December 5: Holy Spirit 7:00 pm
  • December 10: Star of the Sea 7:00 pm
  • December 11: Ascension 7:00 pm
  • December 12: St. Nicholas 7:00 pm
  • December 19: St. John the Apostle 7:00 pm

On the evenings of Thursday, December 5, and Thursday, December 12, Fr. Rob will be assisting with confessions at Holy Spirit and St. Nicholas respectively, so there will be no confessions at St. John’s.

2019 Christmas and Advent Schedule (Download Flyer)

  • Sunday, December 15 7:00 pm Simbang Gabi Mass followed by reception
  • Tuesday, December 17 6:30 pm SJA Christmas Pageant at School
  • Wednesday, December 18 7:00 pm Christmas Concert
  • Thursday, December 19 7:00 pm Parish Advent Penance Service
  • Tuesday, December 24--Vigil of Christmas 4:00 pm Mass 7:00 pm Mass Office is closed. 11:00 pm Mass
  • Wednesday, December 25 -- Nativity of the Lord 10:00 am Mass Parish Office is closed.
  • Thursday, December 26 7:30 am Daily Mass Parish Office is closed.
  • Tuesday, December 31 – Vigil of the Solemnity of Mary 7:30 am Daily Mass 7:00 pm Vigil Mass for the Solemnity of Mary (Holy Day of Obligation)
  • Wednesday, January 1 -- Octave Day of the Nativity of the Lord; Solemnity of Mary, the Holy Mother of God. This is a Holy Day of Obligation. 10:00 am Mass Parish office is closed.

Congratulations to St. John the Apostle Catholic Church!

We have been voted as one of the “Top 3 churches in Virginia Beach, VA” according to ThreeBestRated.com.

Pope Francis Appoints New Bishop for Richmond Diocese

With great joy, the Diocese of Richmond announces that the Holy Father, Pope Francis, appointed the Most Reverend Barry C. Knestout, Auxiliary Bishop of the Archdiocese of Washington, as the 13th Bishop of Richmond. The Mass of Installation will be celebrated at 2 p.m. Jan. 12, 2018, at the Cathedral of the Sacred Heart in Richmond.